Celia Shahnaz, Chair for IEEE Bangladesh Section and General Chair for IEEE WIECON ECE 2020; Renu Sharma, Chair for IEEE WIE Bhubaneswar Subsection and General Chair for IEEE WIECON ECE 2020

Women in Engineering Conference (WIECON) is the flagship event of IEEE Bangladesh Section. It is a multidisciplinary conference organized with the objective of bringing together academicians, scientists, researchers from industry, research scholars, and students working in all areas of electrical and computer engineering. It was first organized in 2015 at BUET, Dhaka, Bangladesh. Since then. IEEE Bangladesh Section partners with different Sections, Subsections, and their affinity groups to host the conference. This year, IEEE Bangladesh Section and IEEE Bhubaneswar Subsection jointly organized the 6th IEEE WIECON ECE 2020 on 26th & 27th December, 2020 along with their respective WIE AGs focusing on both theory and applications in the broad areas of Electrical Power Engineering, Advanced Computing, Communication Engineering, Robotics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Humanitarian Technology, Biomedical Engineering and Civil Engineering.

The conference received a good number of submissions numbering more than 550. These submitted papers came from different corners of the world. All these submissions were subjected to a rigorous review by the members of the Technical Committee and global subject expert reviewers. After an intense scrutiny of reviews, only 115 high-quality papers were accepted for presentation at the conference. IEEE PES Women in Power Summit was also conducted wherein students from various countries have participated. Details of Keynote/Invited Speakers are as follows:

  • Prof. Ljiljana Trajkovic, Life Fellow of IEEE; IEEE Division X Delegate/Director (2019–2020)
  • Prof. S.N.Singh, Chair IEEE India Council, 2019-2020
  • Prof. Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, Ph.D. D.Sc., IEEE Life Fellow, IFAC Fellow and AWM Fellow; Professor of Mathematics and Engineering University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas, USA Past Chair of IEEE WIE
  • Prof. Noel N. Schulz, PhD, Fellow of IEEE Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Washington State University Pullman, USA
  • Prof. G. Bhuvaneswari, PhD, Fellow of IEEE & Professor, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi
  • Prof. Sushmita Mitra, PhD, Fellow of IEEE, INSA, IAPR, INAE, NASI Professor, Machine Intelligence Unit, Indian Statistical Institute
  • Prof. Prasanta Panda Lead Data Scientist: Machine Learning and AI, Tata Consultancy Services
  • Prof. SP Daniel Chowdhury, PhD CEng (UK), Fellow IET (UK), FIE, FIETE, SMIEEE Fellow SAIEE
  • Prof. Ruomei Li, PhD, SMIEEE; Chair, IEEE Power and Energy Society(PES) & Women in Power

In the inaugural session, Prof. Ljiljana Trajkovic and Prof. Akinori Nishihara, (FIEEE, IEEE Region 10 Director, 2019-2020) joined as Chief Guests and Prof. S N Singh was the Special Guest. At the closing and awards ceremony, Prof. Noel Schulz was the Chief Guest, Prof. Bozenna Pasik-Duncan and Dr. Suresh K Nair, IEEE India Council Chair were the Special Guests. 500 participants from India, Bangladesh, USA, China, South Africa, and Japan attended the event. For details about the conference, please visit: