IEEE Region 10 Executive Committee Meeting 2022

9th January 2022, Virtual Meeting

Prepared by: Mohammad Faizal Ahmad Fauzi, Chair for IEEE R10 Newsletter Committee

IEEE Region 10 Executive Committee held their virtual 2022 meeting on 9th January 2022. The meeting, held from 7.30AM to 1.15PM Indian Standard Time over Webex virtual meeting platform, was attended by all the executive committee members of IEEE Region 10 for the year 2022. Largely unchanged from the 2021 lineup, the R10 Executive Committee is made up of the Director (Deepak Mathur), Director-Elect (Lance Fung), Past Director (Akinori Nishihara), Secretary (Sameer SM), Treasurer (Rajendrasinh Jadeja), three Vice Chairs (Zia Ahmed, Byung-Gook Park, Nirmal Nair), 18 Larger Executive Committees (Wu Qun, Takao Onoye, Michael Ong, Preeti Bajaj, Jong Chang Yi, Jing Dong, Sanjay Chowdhury, Kurnianingsih, Rajendra Asthana, JeongYon Shim, Mohammad Faizal Ahmad Fauzi, Parkash Lohana, Amit Kumar, Seishi Takamura, Jennifer Chua Dela Cruz, Warunika Hippola, Emi Yano, Saaveethya Sivakumar), three Advisory Committee (Kukjin Chun, Ramakrishna Kappagantu, Toshio Fukuda) and Project Manager (Ewell Tan).

This is the second year in a row that the meeting was conducted virtually. Similar to the 2021 meeting, to accommodate members from eight different time zones within Region 10, the meeting was only schedule for just over half a day. The meeting started with the address by R10 Director, Deepak Mathur, who gave an update on the region’s activities and achievements for the year 2021. This is followed by messages by IEEE Past President, Toshio Fukuda and Past VP MGA, Kukjin Chun, both of which sit in the R10 Advisory Committee. Zia Ahmed, Vice Chair for Technical Activities then proceeded to present the newly proposed R10 Robotics Competition to all members. Activities and plans for each R10 portfolio for the year 2022 were presented for review and approval. The presentations were led by the three R10 Vice Chairs, Zia Ahmed (Technical Activities), Byung-Gook Park (Membership Activities), and Nirmal Nair (Professional Activities). Akinori Nishihara then presented the updates from the R10 Advisory and Nomination committee, before financials and budget were elaborated by R10 Treasurer, Rajendrasinh Jadeja. The meeting concluded with the sharing of 2022 meeting calendar and AGM agenda by the Secretary, Sameer SM.