IEEE R10 Newsletter – Bringing you the latest happenings in Region 10

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

Click here to download the PDF version.

Welcome Messages

Messages from 2020-2021 IEEE R10 Director and IEEE R10 Newsletter Coordinator . . .

A picture containing grass, outdoor, person, field

Description automatically generated

Lau Bee Theng currently works as a Director at the School of Research and Professor at Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus. She is an active IEEE Sarawak Subsection, IEEE Malaysia Section and IEEE Region 10 volunteer who has fostered technological innovation and excellence that aligned well with the IEEE tagline of advancing technology for humanity. . .

R10 Large Section – IEEE Indonesia Section

Graphical user interface, website

Description automatically generated

The IEEE Indonesia Section was established on 16th February 1988. It currently has 2983 active members as of February 2022. The Section has been awarded 2021 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment and Retention performance by IEEE. This membership number has increased significantly in recent times. In 2021, there was an improvement in the number of active members as well as six new Student Branches and one Technical Joint Chapter . . .

R10 WIE Volunteer –Paulina Chan [Hong Kong Section]

Graphical user interface, application, website

Description automatically generated

Paulina Chan started my IEEE journey as a Graduate Student Member chairing the Imperial College London Student Branch, and published my first peer-reviewed paper at the ICC, entitled “Videoteleconferencing – Promise or Threat?” some time ago.  The exposure to global networks and experts in so many technical fields was essential for a young engineer to find her footing.. . .

IEEE Region 10 Executive Committee held their virtual 2022 meeting on 9th January 2022. The meeting, held from 7.30AM to 1.15PM Indian Standard Time over Webex virtual meeting platform, was attended by all the executive committee members of IEEE Region 10 for the year 2022. Largely unchanged from the 2021 lineup, the R10 Executive Committee is made up of the Director (Deepak Mathur), Director-Elect (Lance Fung), Past Director (Akinori Nishihara), Secretary (Sameer SM), Treasurer (Rajendrasinh Jadeja), three Vice Chairs (Zia Ahmed, Byung-Gook Park, Nirmal Nair), 18 Larger Executive Committees (Wu Qun, Takao Onoye, Michael Ong, Preeti Bajaj, Jong Chang Yi, Jing Dong, Sanjay Chowdhury, Kurnianingsih, Rajendra Asthana, JeongYon Shim, Mohammad Faizal Ahmad Fauzi, Parkash Lohana, Amit Kumar, Seishi Takamura, Jennifer Chua Dela Cruz, Warunika Hippola, Emi Yano, Saaveethya Sivakumar), three Advisory Committee (Kukjin Chun, Ramakrishna Kappagantu, Toshio Fukuda) and Project Manager (Ewell Tan).. . .

IEEE Region 10 Annual General Meeting 2022

Graphical user interface, application, websiteDescription automatically generated

For the first time, IEEE Region 10 has its Region 10 Annual General Meeting held in a hybrid mode in two physical venues; Hyderabad, India and Jeju Island, South Korea. A total of 134 IEEE volunteer leaders and staff had participated in this meeting (38 in-person attendees and 96 remote participants). . .


After going through all submissions for the IEEE R10 Newsletter Naming and Logo Contest, we are glad to announce the winners of IEEE R10 Newsletter naming contest.

Become a IEEE Member and Get Exclusive Offers!


Awards, Fundings and Call for Papers

Learn about this year’s events . . .

Video interviews with the TENCON2021 General Chairs

Covid-19 Interviews