Bangalore Section

K.V.S. Hari has been an IEEE member for over 28 years and currently serves as the Vice President (VP)-Membership on the Board of Governors of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS). He was the SPS Regional Director-at-Large of Region 10 (2018-2019) and member of the Membership Board (2018-2022). He has been a member of the SPTM-TC (2014-2019). He has served as a Chair of the SPS Bangalore Chapter (2005, 2011-2013).

During his term as the SPS Regional-Director-at-Large (RDAL) of R10, he triggered the creation of multiple student chapters of SPS which in turn triggered the increase in membership of IEEE in R10. As VP Membership of SPS, he is facilitating this growth of membership across all regions. As a member of the SPTM-TC, he has chaired their Educational activities and co-ordinated activities for student members across SPS. As a chair of the SPS chapter, activities related to students & industry professionals were organised.

Receiving a certificate from Prof Ali H Sayed, IEEE SPS President (2018-2019)

He has served as a Vice-Chair of Bangalore Section (2012-2013) and then as Chair of the IEEE Bangalore Section (2016). He was appointed as Chair of 2017 India Strategy Committee by the IEEE President to develop a strategy document for growth of IEEE in India. He has been a General Co-Chair, for 2016 IEEE International Conference on Advanced Networks and Telecommunication Systems (ANTS) organised by ComSoc. He was a member of SPCE-TC in ComSoc (2016-2018).  He was a Co-Chair, IEEE Region 10’s 50-years Celebrations and Region 10’s Students, Young professionals, Women and Life members (SYWL) Congress in 2016.

He also served as the General Chair, IEEE International Conference on Electronics, Computing and Communication Technologies (CONECCT) (2012, 2013), the flagship conference of Bangalore Section. He was a Member, IEEE University Programs (UPC) Ad-hoc Committee of the IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) in 2010.

Receiving the 2018 IEEE MGA Leadership from the 2018 IEEE President Prof Jose Moura along with 2018 IEI President and IEEE Bangalore Section Leadership

He is an IEEE Fellow, Member of Eta Kappa Nu and the recipient of the 2018 IEEE MGA Leadership award. He is a co-author of IEEE 802.16 standard on wireless channel models which was a collaboration between academia and industry. He has fostered the growth of IEEE during his service. He has established close working of members from academia, industry and government officials during several events organized by him ranging from technical seminars, workshops, to international conferences.